the Air Vent

Because the world needs another opinion

New Surface Temperature Page

Posted by Jeff Id on March 28, 2010

I’ve started a new surface temperature documentation page.  Currently it contains only Roman’s offset global anomaly calculation but I will be adding to it periodically starting with a standard anomaly style calculation.

If people have links to different raw and finished data and methods, I would like to collect them on that page.   Leave suggestions below and I will add a data section and just gradually work at making it a better source.

9 Responses to “New Surface Temperature Page”

  1. […] New Surface Temperature Page « the Air Vent […]

  2. I’ve got stuff to do today, but I’ll send you links to some of the data I have.

    It would be nice if people put together some basic I/O blocks in R, Like reading in

    GHNC inventory files, ushcn inv, antartic data, ushcn v1 and v2 data,

  3. CoRev said

    Boy, this one is getting spammed.

  4. stumpy said

    http://cliflo.niwa.co.nz/

    Free access to a wide range of raw temperature data for New Zealand (requires registration), includes all the stations used by global temperature records -> Christchurch Botanical Gardens, Musselburgh Dunedin, Auckland Airport, Hokitika Aero etc…

  5. Jeff Id said

    Thanks Steve,

    My thoughts are to have links to all the temperature data and anything which has open source improvements.

    I’ll add NewZeland too.

    If someone already has it done somewhere, please drop a link to it here so I can replicate it.

    I’ll add RSS and UAH to the list too.

  6. Joel Heinrich said

    some free German data:

    http://www.dwd.de/bvbw/appmanager/bvbw/dwdwwwDesktop?_nfpb=true&_pageLabel=_dwdwww_klima_umwelt_klimadaten_deutschland&T82002gsbDocumentPath=Navigation%2FOeffentlichkeit%2FKlima__Umwelt%2FKlimadatenzentren%2FNKDZ%2Fkldaten__akt%2Fausgabe__standardformat__node.html__nnn%3Dtrue

  7. Jeff, I’ve posted a different type of global temperature calculation, in the spirit of Roman’s least squares. It extends the idea to actually dispense with gridding ( except to calculate an area weighted function) and anomalies (but with offsets). I’ve posted some results, which agree quite well with yours.

  8. SteveWH said

    Jeff

    Congratulations on the baby boy and Mom Id.

    I have used your program to look at all the British Columbia sites in the GHCN v2.mean database. I have done the seasonal means and improved anomaly for all of them.

    Just some things that I noticed with compiling an Excel worksheet on the results.

    Just talking BC here. I have no idea if other parts of the GHCN data base show these kind of results for other areas. I do not know how your program uses all the sites in the database.

    1. The record is poor. Most records stop in 1990. Very few go beyond 2000 or to 2010.

    2. Most records are for the period ~1950 to 1990.

    3. The above records can show large decadal seasonal/anomaly slope and large +/-

    4. There are few records of the 1930s/40s – at time of increased temperatures historically.

    Would these out of date, and somewhat time specific (1950 t0 1990) data have an effect on your results for the whole database if my findings for BC are the rule rather than the exception?

    I have my records in an Excel worksheet ( includes all the slopes and +/- data)which I could send you if you would be interested as well as all the plots (22 Mb folder.

    By the way, the only US area I did was 72235 version 1 thru 12. They show much more up to date data ie to 2006.

  9. Re: Nick Stokes (Mar 30 19:56)
    I’ve posted a new version of my least squares code here. There are various results for hemispheres, urban/rural etc. The R code there is flexible in what you can choose.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

