the Air Vent

Because the world needs another opinion

No time at all

Posted by Jeff Id on November 23, 2010

As you may have noticed, there haven’t been a lot of posts lately.  Over the past several weeks, I’ve become more and more busy with work.  Now I’m working every night and weekend at home, the result of course is that I’m way too busy to play around with technical blogging. You may have noticed the trend away from my own technical posts as things became more busy over the last several weeks, that is just time becoming more scarce.  I really want to mess with Ljungqvist data some more, would very much enjoy one more crack at Mann08 and have some Antarctic stuff I want to do as well but there just isn’t time right now.  It’s unlikely that I will have any time for this stuff in the next few weeks either.

So, this is a formal invite to anyone who would like to help out and keep tAV going over the next few weeks to create guest posts on any topic related to climate.   As you know agreement politically or on climate is not a requirement for tAV (disagreement is preferred), so if you have something to write send me an email.

It sure is nice to have a spot to let the pressure of an insane world out.  I wonder what will happen if I don’t blog for a while?  Maybe I’ll crack!  I do have two book reviews to write up on a couple of excellent books you should know about and some time over Thanksgiving but we’ll see what gets done.

 

 


5 Responses to “No time at all”

  1. Hi Jeff,

    May I suggest that you ask Dr. J. Marvin Herndon to post and respond to comments on the fundamental flaw in our system that created Climategate, NASAgate, etc?

    See: “American science decline: The cause and cure”: http://tinyurl.com/2uokfmk

    With kind regards,
    Oliver K. Manuel

  2. Phillip Bratby said

    You’ve got to think of the family first and in today’s economic climate, that means you have to think about work. We have plenty of information out there to keep ourselves occupied.

  3. curious said

    DeWitt/Nick Stokes – if you are reading could I request you take up Jeff’s offer and consider a post which summarises and systematically presents the arguments and work you have put in on the hurricane issue?

    From Jeff’s post on Anastassia’s work the discussion/argument has spread across several threads at various blogs and I’d guess there would be a lot of interest in a post pulling together your material. I’m guilty of dropping in and out of discussions when things catch my simple eye and not bottoming out numbers in the way DeWitt does – from what I have seen you two have evolved a pretty comprehensive view of things and it would be nice to see this presented outside the context of a direct rebuttal/critique of AM’s work. TIA for anything you produce.

  4. Re: curious (Nov 23 16:45),
    Curious,
    Just noticed your suggestion. Yes, I’d like to, in principle. I made a comment some time ago on the ACPD site, and I thought I’d be expected to come up with something more substantial there if the discussion warmed up. So far that doesn’t seem to have happened.

  5. curious said

    Thanks Nick – I check the ACPD site from time to time and I’m surprised yours is the only detailed specific comment (last time I looked). The type of thing I thought would be good here is an organised presentation of all the stuff you and DeWitt have covered in various posts on hurricanes and atmospheric dynamics. I think I’ve followed but it would be nice to have it in one place and from the interest on the other threads I’m guessing others would apreciate it too. I wasn’t thinking of it as a comment, rebuttal or critique of AM’s work – I’d see the ACPD site as the place for that. IMO hat’s off to AM and her colleagues for being bold enough to put their work out for wide and open comment and responding so diligently to the questions and objections people have raised. I hope they can reconsider and either represent their work in a way others can follow or they modify their position to respond to valid criticsm.

    And congrat’s on SoD handing on the Woody Guthrie Award! :-)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

