the Air Vent

Because the world needs another opinion

Check Out What Gavin Did at CA

Posted by Jeff Id on February 4, 2009

This should make your day. It did mine.

Gavin’s “Mystery Man” Revealed

14 Responses to “Check Out What Gavin Did at CA”

  1. Layman Lurker said

    I usually try to steer away from the side show that occurs from time to time in the climate change debate. However, this incident I find particularly disturbing.

    Eric makes the comment at RC that people have been “disingenuous” about code and data availability. Gavin talks about SM “playing games”. Then Gavin has the gall to say this:

    “BAS were notified by people Sunday night who independently found the Gill/Harry mismatch. SM could have notified them but he didn’t.”

    I found this comment on the CA thread to capture my reaction exactly:

    “rephelan:
    February 4th, 2009 at 12:20 pm
    There is an issue here that people seem to touch on only tangentially. As a college professor (ok, a lowly, unpublished adjunct instructor) I am appalled at the lack of intellectual integrity I find in students. It is disheartening to find it in emminent scientists. This is the text of a response I left at RC which is being moderated:

    Dr. Schmidt:

    In your response to Bernie at 11:01 AM you have essentially admitted to taking the insights of another researcher attempting to replicate the results of a study, insights you did not develop on your own, and then raced to preempt him. If one of my students had done such a thing I would very seriously consider bringing charges before the university’s disciplinary committee. I am very disappointed that a scientist of your stature and position isn’t a bit more sensitive to the ethical message he is sending.

    R.E. Phelan”

    Who is actually being “disingenuous” and “playing games”?

  2. Jeff Id said

    It shows a bit of the character of those we’re dealing with. For Gavin to claim he found this independently is complete …… self snip.

    I really enjoyed the whole childish idiocy of it. I mean really, who cares if he gives McIntyre credit. Had he just revealed he notified BAS, given credit to McIntyre for calling his attention to it and then made his comments he comes off as a professional and Steve looks a slight bit worse. The thought process behind the decision to claim independent discovery is really difficult to grasp.

    I bet Gavin has been deleting RC comments all day.

  3. Molon Labe said

    I’m not mad about anything. The starting assumption would be to take the man at his word, grab the code he points to, and quit mischaracterizing what is available at the site.

  4. Jeff Id said

    I did grab the code. It’s a manual that’s all. Steig did the equivalent of me saying for my recent sea ice post, here’s the code it’s been there all along and pointing to an R manual on the file command.

    It is disingenuous and in my opinion it’s done to deceive people who don’t realize what he did.

  5. Molon Labe said

    What do you think all those .m files are?

  6. Jeff Id said

    They are the code for a generalized RegEm function.

  7. Molon Labe said

    Keep it up and Team accusations that we demand handholding are going to stick.

  8. Jeff Id said

    I’m guessing you don’t program.

  9. PhilD said

    I agree entirely with Layman Lurker. Schmidt acted disgracefully, in particular by using the words ‘people’ when he meant ‘me’ and ‘independently’ when he meant ‘after I’d been tipped off by Steve McIntyre’. Did he really think he would get away with this charade? His reputation can actually be heard sinking.

    Molon Labe – the only ‘mischaracterizing’ here is Schmidt’s, as he tries to embarrass McIntyre for finding errors in the data behind the warmers’ latest fear-inducing headlines, only to have his scam blow up in his face.

  10. AEGeneral said

    Is there a code of ethics for climatologists? Continuing education requirements? How does this profession attempt to police itself, or do they just hold their hands out for grant money/gov’t funding?

    A lot of questions I know, but I thought I’d ask.

    Not sure if this would qualify as unethical, but at the very least it’s immature and unbecoming of someone claiming to be a professional.

  11. Layman Lurker said

    “Keep it up and Team accusations that we demand handholding are going to stick.”

    Am I missing something? My understanding when people talk of posting code, is that the actual file consisting of all workings which produce the final product is what is posted. This file obviously exists somewhere. The RegEm is the software which would be used to construct the run, but not the actual run itself. Please correct me if I’m wrong.

    How could posting empty RegEm somehow support the teams accusations?

  12. Jim Owen said

    I worked with, for and around scientists for most of 42 years as a NASA contractor. The only difference between this circus and the ones I was involved with is that this one is a lot more public because it’s on the internet. SM is entirely right to be disgusted at the juvenile behavior of someone who’s supposed to be a senior scientist. Personally, because of past experience, I find it disgusting but not surprising.

  13. J. Peden said

    One of the funniest aspects of this faux concern about SteveM not reporting Harry immediately to BAS is that SteveM reported the problem with Harry to GISS, and first, while Gavin was busy complaining about Steve’s allegedly delinquent alert to BAS.

  14. TSH said

    As a student, I’m happy to hear that I can from now on just give my teacher a math book instead of actually doing my exams. Thanks Molon.

    Really, I’m surprised that people don’t get this. Maybe it IS a programmer thing.

    I’m programming a distributed system using RMI right now as a school project.
    I can’t just point my teachers to a webpage about RMI and expect to pass.

Leave a Reply

 
