A Summation of the Mann Data on Global Warming

I have been working hard on importing and plotting the Mann data.  This represents the first attempt.  I weighted the graph in SD units from a SD calc on 1400-1800, the data was not filtered intentionally as I wanted to see the actual this time.

I think there are some very interesting features like the spike at about 580 AD but I need some more experienced individuals to check the graph.  Also, any help in separating proxy from measured data as well as bad proxies for removal would be appreciated.

If we can trust the proxies I think this graph shows the magnitude of the temperature change from past to present more reasonably than the Mann paper.  In order to complete this though I need to remove any directly measured data (which ones are they) and data which is known to have problems.  After that I want to do smoothed and raw plots and correlations.  It should be interesting.

This is very preliminary data, i haven’t had time to confirm every calculation but I think it is good.

This seems to me to be a more reasonable way to view long term trends.  After the few incorrect (contaminated) records are removed we should be able to make some conclusions from this.  Also, I need some help getting the regional temerature curves imported if someone can, I would like to reproduce the Mann calcs as well.

2 thoughts on “A Summation of the Mann Data on Global Warming

  1. After hours figuring out how to cleanly import the data. I calculated the standard deviation from 1400 to 1800 years, similarly to climate audit and scaled the graphs accordingly. Then with no weighting at all I averaged them. My thought was to see as clean a representation of the total dataset as possible.

    The most recent 3 or 4 years have a huge spike which makes no sense to me. I haven’t had time to look into it yet.

Leave a comment